Citrus County transit closed to regular service

Due to the impending storm, Hurricane Irma, Citrus County Transit will be closed to regular service, para transit (door to door by advanced reservation) and Orange Line Deviated Fixed Route on both Friday September 8 and Monday September 11.

Suncoast Parkway 2: For Citrus County, it's the road ahead

John Wade Jr., President, Citrus County Council

The Suncoast Parkway 2 project is ready to continue construction, and this leg will take it from Citrus County northward. The county has signed a Memorandum Of Agreement (MOA) with the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to help pave the way for the coming parkway.

The question has not been, for sometime now, if the state's Sunshine Parkway II project will be going through Citrus County, but where -- and when construction will begin.

Halls River bridge getting new tech in makeover

The halls River Bridge on Citrus County Road 490-A is getting a makeover.

As it sits today, it's certainly no spring chicken, having been built in 1954.

Transit Orange Line offers free bus pass program

Citrus County Orange Line transit bus

Starting Jan. 15, 2015, Citrus County Transit will offer a free bus pass to eligible passengers who travel on the Citrus County Orange Line deviated fixed route.

The Orange Line operates Monday through Saturday from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Through Transportation Disadvantaged (TD) funding, passengers - with an income level of $1,200 per month or less - can apply for the free bus pass by filing out a TD application and providing supporting documentation to verify income. The pass will be valid for two years, and can be renewed at that time.

Long-range transportation plan moves forward

The Citrus County Commission today agreed to move forward with its part of the Hernando-Citrus County MPO master long-range transportation plan.

Presenting to the commission Bob Wallace, Tindale-Oliver & Associates, who was hired by the MPO (Metropolitan Planning Organization). Citrus County has two seats on the MPO.

TPO recognizes committee chairs

FROM LEFT: Councilman Cabot McBride; Councilwoman Paula Wheeler; Cindy Jones; Commissioner Rebecca Bays; Beverly Clemo; Councilwoman Jacquie Hepfer; and Commissioner Joe Meek.

The Citrus County Transportation Planning Organization (CCTPO) Board on June 12 presented Certificates of Appreciation to committee chairpersons.

They were Cynthia Jones, I.E, chair of the CCTPO Transportation Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and Beverly Clemo, chair of the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC).

Clemo was elected chair on Feb. 9, 2012 at the inaugural meeting of the CAC. Jones was appointed to the TAC by County Administrator Brad Thorpe on Feb. 24, 2011.

This was the last official meeting of the Citrus County TPO (CCTPO) Board.


Subscribe to RSS - Transportation

Recent comments

No comments available.


  • Use the "Contact Us" link at the top of the page to send in your news tips, calendar events and stories.
  • You must register to comment.
  • Any comments must be approved before they will appear, even if you're registered.
  • No libel, slander, sexual innuendo. No profanity; be civil. BE BRIEF !